“Nothing’s too big to fit in my heart” – Bruce Cockburn

 

BruceCockburn

“To Fit in My Heart”

Endless silver
Wave forms crash in
Sea’s too big to fit in my brain
Nothings too big to fit in my heart

Seas come, seas go
Where they stood deserts flow
Time’s too big to fit in the brain
Nothing’s too big to fit in my heart

Spacetime strings bend
World without end
God’s too big to fit in a book
Nothings too big to fit in my heart

 Song by Bruce Cockburn, from “LIfe Short, Call Now

Sorry but I could not find a digital copy of the song that I could upload.

BMC @ Manifest Propensity, 2013.

2 thoughts on ““Nothing’s too big to fit in my heart” – Bruce Cockburn

  1. Bryan says:

    I am glad you like it! The song demonstrates the alternate way of knowing that Pascal recognized when he said “the heart has its reasons, which reason does not know.”

    This way of knowing is how faith works, since the object we encounter creates the heart response and knowledge. But people try to “muster up faith” with mere rationality and apart from seeking to encounter the object that creates awe and faith, be it the sea, time, space, infinity, or God.

    Of course these objects are mediated to us through our senses and therefore I would not devalue a “book” because it cannot fully contain God, since it is in and through that book that we can encounter God in ways that actually transcend what we can learn of God through nature, conscience, self-knowledge, experience, and reason apart from “the book”.

    This mediating and revealing purpose of the Bible is why John wrote these things that are part of the New Testament:

    First letter of John 1:1-4
    “That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we looked upon and have touched with our hands, concerning the word of life— the life was made manifest, and we have seen it, and testify to it and proclaim to you the eternal life, which was with the Father and was made manifest to us— that which we have seen and heard we proclaim also to you, so that you too may have fellowship with us; and indeed our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ. And we are writing these things so that our joy may be complete.”

    Gospel of John 20:24-31
    “Now Thomas, one of the Twelve, called the Twin, was not with them when Jesus came. So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see in his hands the mark of the nails, and place my finger into the mark of the nails, and place my hand into his side, I will never believe.”

    Eight days later, his disciples were inside again, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side. Do not disbelieve, but believe.” Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

    Now Jesus did many other signs in the presence of the disciples, which are not written in this book; but these are written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.”

    I realize Jessica, that you merely posted a verbal “like” but I wanted to take the opportunity to explore the “method of knowing” that Bruce Cockburn has written about. I think it is important to “understand” how the reason of the heart works, since “heart knowledge” seems “reasonable” to us. In other words you like the song! I am just trying to show why it is actually “reasonable” to like it!

    Knowledge not open to the heart, results in a truncated experience of what is. Knowledge open to the heart enables us to fellowship with the infinite mysteries of life, existence, and our Creator.

    Thanks Jessica

Leave a Reply

