“Vision” by Peter Hammill – One of the best love songs you’ve probably never heard

fool'smate photo

This is strictly a music post of one of the best love songs that most people have probably never heard. Peter Hammill was the co-founder and singer songwriter of Van Der Graff Generator in 1967. The song “Vision” is a wonderful love song from Peter Hammill’s first solo album in 1971 called Fool’s Mate.

I have another post that is about the song as an example of what Soren Kierkegaard called “poetic love.”

Vision by Peter Hammill

I have a vision of you, locked inside my head;
it creeps upon my mind, and warms me in my bed.
A vision shimering, shifting
moving in false firelight;
a vision of a vision,
protecting me from fear at night,
as the seasons roll on, and my love stays strong.

I don’t know where you end, and where it is that I begin.
I simply open my mind and the memories flood on in.
I remember waking up with your arms around me;
I remember losing myself
and finding that you’d found me,
as the seasons rolled on, and my love stayed strong.

Be my child, be my lover,
swallow me up in your fire-glow.
Take my tongue, take my torment,
take my hand and don’t let go.
Let me live in your life,
for you make it all seem to matter.
Let me die in your arms,
so the vision may never shatter.
The seasons roll on;
my love stays strong.

So has anyone ever heard this song before? If not do you agree that it is one of the best love songs you’ve never heard?

One thought on ““Vision” by Peter Hammill – One of the best love songs you’ve probably never heard

  1. Daphne says:

    Yes and yes!!!! Beautiful, as are all of his lyrics

Leave a Reply

