“Black Soul Choir” by 16 Horsepower (David Eugene Edwards)

Another great song and video from David Eugene Edwards and 16 Horsepower.

Below are the lyrics, which by the way are metaphorical and not racist (it is about being part of a choir in which we all have black souls, not about a literal “black soul choir”). I really like the way this song says what it says, even though it is not very flattering (to say the least). It ranks with T. Bone Burnett’s “Criminals” which can be found here, as a powerful “true confessional.” Why do we need to confess? In order to not “love darkness” and to “come to the light”:

19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.

20 For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.

21 But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God.

(John 3:19-21)

Black Soul Choir

No man ever seen the face of his foe no
He ain’t made of flesh and bone
He’s the one who sits up close beside you
And when he’s there you are alone

Every man is evil yes and every man’s a liar
Unashamed with the wicked tongues sing
In the black soul choir

Every man is evil yes and every man’s a liar
Unashamed with the wicked tongue
The black soul choir

Oh, he rises in my way
Oh, he rises in my way

No man ever seen the face of my Lord no
Not since he left his skin
He’s the one you keep cold on the outside girl
He’s at your door let him in

Every man is evil yes and every man’s a liar
Unashamed with the wicked tongues sing
In the black soul choir
[ From: http://www.metrolyrics.com/black-soul-choir-lyrics-16-horsepower.html ]

Every man is evil yes and every man’s a liar
Unashamed with the wicked tongue
The black soul choir

Oh, he rises in my way
Oh, he rises in my way

I will forgive your wrongs, I am able
For my own I feel great shame
I will offer up a brick to the back of your head boy
If I was Cain

Every man is evil yes and every man’s a liar
Unashamed with the wicked tongues sing
In the black soul choir

Every man is evil yes and every man’s a liar
Unashamed with the wicked tongue
The black soul choir

Oh, he rises in my way
Oh, he rises in my way

BMC @ Manifest Propensity, 2013

Leave a Reply

